Rotherham County FC

Rotherham County F.C. was an English football club based in Rotherham, South Yorkshire. They spent a number of years in the Football League before merging with rivals Rotherham Town in 1925 to form Rotherham United.


The club was founded in 1877, as Thornhill Football Club (later 'Thornhill United'), before, in 1905, changing to Rotherham County. It joined the Midland League in 1903, and stayed in that competition until it was abandoned for World War I. They won the Midland League title for four consecutive seasons, from 1911–12 to 1914–15 inclusive.

After the War, they were elected to the Football League when the league expanded from 40 clubs to 44 in 1919. In 1925 they merged with local rivals Rotherham Town to form Rotherham United who are still members of the Football League.