Leeds United U21

Leeds United Reserves were the English football reserve team of Leeds United F.C.. In previous seasons, they played at York City's Bootham Crescent, South Leeds Stadium and the first team's ground Elland Road. The reserves were generally a mix of recovering or fringe first-team players, young professionals and promising scholars.

Leeds United Under 23s are the development squad of Leeds United F.C.. They play in the Professional Development League. Mark Jackson is the current coach subsequent to Carlos Corberán's move to Huddersfield Town A.F.C.. They play at the club's training ground, Thorp Arch, although they also occasionally play at Elland Road.

Leeds United Under 18s are the youth team of Leeds United F.C.. They play in the U18 Professional Development League. The youth team won the competition's predecessor, the Premier Academy League, in the 2002–03 season, when the league was split into Under-19s and Under-17s, with Leeds winning the Under-17s competition. Mark Jackson is the current coach of the team. They play at the club's training ground, Thorp Arch. The youth team also compete annually in the FA Youth Cup, having won it twice – the first time in 1993, beating Manchester United 4–1, and the second time in 1997, beating Crystal Palace 3–1.

Leeds' concentration on youth since the Ridsdale era attracted praise at the highest level with the president of FIFA Sepp Blatter commenting "Leeds, a club I greatly respect, have to be applauded for its efforts in this regard".

The Leeds United Academy has produced several promising youngsters who have been controversially signed by top flight clubs in recent years. Michael Woods, Ben Gordon and Tom Taiwo moved to Chelsea, 16-year-old Elliot Kebbie was signed by Atlético Madrid, 14-year-olds George Swan and Louis Hutton were signed by Manchester City, Danny Ward switched to Bolton Wanderers and Luke Garbutt moved to Everton while still in the Leeds United youth team.

Former players that graduated through the Leeds United academy include England internationals Aaron Lennon, James Milner, Paul Robinson, Scott Carson, Jonathan Woodgate, Danny Rose, Fabian Delph, Lewis Cook and Alan Smith, Australian international Harry Kewell, Republic of Ireland internationals Stephen McPhail, Gary Kelly and Ian Harte, Northern Ireland international Bailey Peacock-Farrell, Republic of Ireland Under-21 internationals Eric Grimes and Aidy White and England Under-21 internationals Jonny Howson, Matthew Kilgallon, Ronaldo Vieira, Tom Pearce and Tom Lees. Former club and international greats that also came through Leeds' youth ranks include; John Charles, Gary Sprake, Terry Cooper, Mick Bates, Peter Lorimer, Paul Reaney, Norman Hunter, Jack Charlton, Albert Johanneson, Billy Bremner, Eddie Gray, Gary Speed, John Lukic, David Batty, and Paul Madeley.

Graduates in the current Leeds United first team squad are plentiful, with Oliver Casey, Charlie Cresswell, Leif Davis, Ryan Edmondson, Robbie Gotts, Alfie McCalmont, Kalvin Phillips and Jamie Shackleton all having made appearances in the first team squad.